Newbie Questions - Bristol Event April 17th

Discussions related to Solo
IdahoFZ

Newbie Questions - Bristol Event April 17th

Post by IdahoFZ »

I'm new to Solo/Autocross and am planning on doing the event in Bristol on Saturday April 17th. I do track days regularly on a motorcycle for fun (I'm not really competitive, I just do it for the love of riding), but have never done one in a car. I have several questions still, even after looking through FAQ's, beginner checklist, etc. on the ETRSCCA website. Anyway, here's my questions below! Thanks in advance for the help, I'm really excited about doing the event and learning from everyone.

1) Car Class - I just bought a 2008 Porsche Boxster S RS 60 Spyder with a manual! It's a factory option package that included larger diameter 19 inch wheels (not any wider though, unfortunately), a slight 15 mm offset for a wider stance, some cosmetic stuff like a slight lip on the front bumper (no actual aero benefit), and the factory sport exhaust. It reportedly was factory tuned with the sport exhaust for an additional paltry 6-7 horsepower or something silly like that. I looked it up in the rules, and a normal '08 Boxster S is supposed to be in the BS class. Does this still apply to my car? Again all of these mods are from the factory, there's nothing aftermarket on it.

2) Running a convertible: do have I have to do the runs with the top up or can I have it down? Do I need any roll cage modifications to run in my class with a convertible?

2) Multiple Drivers in one car? My Dad will be visiting and wants to come for the event. I'd love to have him drive as well. Is that allowed? Does he need to register as well then? I'm just trying to get a feel for this, so I'm not terribly concerned about my times and competing quite yet. Can we just take turns driving, or if he registers do we both have to make our own runs all day?

3) How many runs do you typically get in one day?