New member, wanting to get up to speed

Discussions related to Solo
TheCowGod

New member, wanting to get up to speed

Post by TheCowGod »

Hey there everyone. I'm Dan, living in West Knoxville, and looking forward to joining SCCA and coming to autocrosses. I'm trying to decide which of my two cars would be a better choice to bring out, and I'm not sure I fully understand which class each car would fall in. I'm sure you get plenty of these "OMG i don't understand what class my car belongs in" kinds of first posts, but here's mine :)

As far as experience, I was in my university's sports car club 10 years ago (Clemson, SC) and ran in those autocrosses fairly regularly with the various MK2 and MK3 Supras and Civics I owned at the time, but that club didn't do any kind of classing -- everyone just ran together. I haven't done any autocrossing since I graduated in 2003.

As for my cars, I've got a 2011 Mini Cooper S convertible, completely factory stock, and I just picked up a '99 Miata, also completely stock (other than the head unit, which I assume doesn't affect the car's class). I'd think the Miata is the more natural choice. The turbo Mini certainly has more power, but I know the Miata is a very common autox car. I also like the idea of keeping the wear and tear off the Mini, since it's a lease that I'll have to turn back in in a year and a half. (On the other hand, maybe that's an argument for running the Mini :)

Is there any kind of rollbar requirement for convertibles? The Mini has a factory rollbar, but the Miata has none, and I was curious if that'd be a requirement I'd have to factor into my decision.

I've been looking over the rulebook, and it appears that the Mini would be DS, and the Miata would be ES. Is that right?