Choice, choices...time for new tires!

Discussions related to Solo
tauntaun

Choice, choices...time for new tires!

Post by tauntaun »

So I've been autocrossing regularly for around a year now in my BMW 318ti and the RE760's that it was wearing when I bought it are officially Worn Out™.

Now, being a college student I don't have unlimited budget and I'd like these tires to do double duty to a point (i.e. not really interested in 200 TW stuff). Stock size is 225/50R16 but I know that's a bit odd and would be fine moving to a 205/50R16 or 205/55R16. So far on my short list are Bridgestone RE760 Sport, the BF Goodrich g-Force Sport Comp-2, Yokohama S-Drive and the Conti ExtremeContact DW. All of these are around $500-600 for a full set installed.

Something else I've had my eye on is a set of Federal SS-595's in 205/55R16. They are weirdly cheap (literally $65/tire plus shipping) but rated 260 AA A and I've seen blurbs here and there about them actually being pretty good as a budget autocross tire.

Thoughts? I'm running an open diff 140hp car in HS but it's got Bilsteins and is really fun on a curvy road. :D

These old 760's are just plumb worn out and I'm wondering what you more experienced racers recommend.
Sam Cafferty - #42

2001 Subaru Impreza L wagon (RS 5MT, Legacy Turbo suspension) - the "2.2RS" RIP 06-01-16
1999 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport - Stock AWD
1998 BMW 318ti Sport - H Street
jcox07

Re: Choice, choices...time for new tires!

Post by jcox07 »

I have the 595rpm federals on my street rims on my gt500 and they are way better than the 510.00 each goodyears that came on the car new. I like the federals a lot, but look at the new kumho's they seem to be better that the stones re71r.
JY ( Jeff ) Cox
ETR R.E
2018-2021, 2022, 2023 Solo Nationals Co Chairman
2010 GT500
Teufelshund

Post by Teufelshund »

I'd recommend Hankook RS3's. They are 200TW but they seem to do well in rain and cold weather. And they're a really good AX tire.
Brian Robbins
XP 45