TIre question

Discussions related to Rallycross
nicksta43

TIre question

Post by nicksta43 »

I'm going to be running in MR and I am looking for some tire advice from people who have ran in the soil type we'll have at the Redneck resort.

Currently I'm limited to 13" wheels. I have a selection of winter tires available but only in a 175mm tread width.

I'm worried that will be a disadvantage if the course is like hardpack or even if it's wet and sloppy.

The only other option at this point is to get a tire groover and go to town on some all seasons.

I have no experience at this so any help would be appreciated.
Nick Comstock
1980 BMW 320i- 21 STM
gambit4000s

Re: TIre question

Post by gambit4000s »

Since you are in Modified (or Prepared) You can use "Race" (Non-DOT) tires if you can find them in your sizing.
Grooving is allowed in P and M
RR seems to be mostly loose topsoil and red clay.
If it is wet, I would use a directional V-type tread snow tire, as opposed to a block style.

VS

I wouldn't benefit from this (AWD classes) but I have wondered if a Rib style steer tire would be advantageous in RWD classes, they worked really well in very loose conditions on RC cars back in the day

Adam Tegethoff

Four rings covered in mud
JSturg19

Post by JSturg19 »

Winter tires are definitely the best bet for rallycross and since it's 13" it would be pretty difficult to find rally specific tires. The sipes in most snow tires will be extremely helpful when the track gets packed in (most dirt teams sipe tires in packed conditions). In dry conditions the block pattern tires would do well because the surface could be a little loamy even during the end of the day. Like Adam said the v-pattern winter tire will be great if the event turns out like the last one and are very slick and muddy. Just curious but have you hit up the MotorsportsReg page?
nicksta43

Post by nicksta43 »

No I haven't. The car wont be ready for the 30'th I hope to be ready for the April event.