helmet size and car numbers.

Discussion of anything that doesn't fall into the Solo II and RallyX Categories
230 firebird

helmet size and car numbers.

Post by 230 firebird »

Hello members.This is my 1st post and I am new to this so forgive me if these questions are answered somewhere else.I searched the F.A.Q's.I am new to autocross/track days.I am going to attened the event at Bristol in March,and as many as I can through the year.I bought a Racequip helmet,2010 snell rated and medium size.Size says 57-58 centimeters.it fits really tight.I remeaused my head and came up with 581/2 centemeters.Should I send it back and buy a large size or would that be to big? 2nd question. as far as car numbers,I was going to buy the magnetic number material.How do I know what my numbers will be?Should I just bring the material to the track and cut out the numbers there? I am so looking forward to attending these events and having some fun. Thanks,see y'all at the track.
Teufelshund

Re: helmet size and car numbers.

Post by Teufelshund »

Welcome! Helmet size is mostly personal preference. If it's uncomfortable, get a larger size. On numbers, if you know what class you'll be in, look at last year's results and find a two digit number you like that's not being used. On class, what make/model car will you be running?
Brian Robbins
XP 45
disneyd
Site Admin

Post by disneyd »

You don’t want an uncomfortable helmet. However, you also do not want one that’s loose. You should be able to shake your head back-and-forth and not have the helmet slosh around on your head.
- Dave Disney
Gen52SS

Post by Gen52SS »

You will most likely be in novice class. Let us know as much as you can about your car including any MODS you have done. With that we can class your car and as registration chief you pick the number of your choice and I will let you know if it's not being used by another driver and you're good to go.
Paul Breitweiser
2016 STX Champion FRS Raven Black
MARKP

Post by MARKP »