Schools

Discussion of anything that doesn't fall into the Solo II and RallyX Categories
Boyd

Schools

Post by Boyd »

Please forgive if this is generally known, still kind of a noob here...

What's the difference between the 3 schools I see? I understand each is run by a different entity.

EVO, run by Evolution Perf Driving School
Starting Line, run by SCCA
ETR, run by you guys, right?

Is there any real difference between schools? As a new guy that has a lot to learn, should I shoot for all of em? Best 2 outta 3?

I'm signed up for Starting Line because that's the only one available so far. Just looking for some discussion and input.

Thanks.
Boyd Ingram
427 Factory 5 Roadster
368 Fox Mustang
Maryville, Tenn.
thrdeye

Re: Schools

Post by thrdeye »

Starting line is aimed at first time participants, or close to it (think 1-5 events). I think they include a good deal on a helmet when you do the school. That said, the instructors are very experienced and can tailor the instruction to your current level of skill and knowledge.

The ETR school is a great bang for the buck and will include instruction that is very very good for the price. Anyone from a complete novice to a national level driver can gain something from it. And our club has good drivers that are familiar with most types of cars, so we could pair up someone with you that will give you the most benefit.

EVO will generally have instructors come in from out of town and will be of varying pedigrees, but generally they have been quite successful on the national level. The EVO school is something that I try to do every few years to see if Jinx Jordan will still pick on me for overdriving.

If you have at least done a few autocrosses, I'd do the ETR and EVO schools. Plan on going through some tires.
Chris Harp
2009 Mazda RX-8 | 2018 Toyota Tundra | 2011 BMW M3
jcox07

Post by jcox07 »